Happy Belated Halloween!

I realize this post should have come at least three days ago, but my neighborhood just had trick-or-treat last night so candy is fresh on my mind. 

 

Last night, I walked around my neighborhood with my nephew, sister-in-law and my puppy collecting treats for my nephew. We all got in some extra exercise walking around the neighborhood, especially my nephew who most often ran up the driveways! <–This is one of the healthier parts of trick-or-treat! At the end of the night, my nephew had A TON of candy because neighbors passed out whole candy bars or 3-5 pieces at each house!! He only wanted three pieces though because he says, “I’m not much of a sweets person.” He’s 8 going on 20… 

While we were walking around the neighborhood, my husband stayed behind to pass out candy and do housework. Yes, we passed out candy. It was a debate inside of me to pass out candy, pass out something sweet with a little more nutrition or pass out something that isn’t food. The dietitian inside of me said, “Kids don’t need more candy!” but the kid inside of me said, “Don’t be THAT house that doesn’t pass out candy.” The kid won this year. 

I read the Nutrition Facts Label and ingredient list for the candies we passed out: Skittles, Starburst, Mini Snickers, Mini 3 Musketeers, and Snickers Peanut Butter. I did not like what I read… in the ingredient list… I did not expect to find “hydrogenated oils” listed under all as the 2-4th ingredient!

[Before I express my candy regret, I will say that you can fit everything in moderation. A little something sweet can fit daily :)]

What is so bad about “hydrogenated oils?” This means these candies have trans fat. Trans fats are mostly man-made created by adding hydrogen atoms to an unsaturated fat, which means we take a heart-healthy fat and make it unhealthy for our heart. This process allows products to have a longer shelf life. Intake of trans fats raises our “bad” cholesterol, LDL cholesterol, and lowers our “good” cholesterol, HDL cholesterol. 

So, what should I pass out this next year for trick-or-treat? Maybe I’ll pass out sugar-free flavored gum; fruit chews from fruit with Vitamin C; cereal bars; or unsalted pretzels. My adult and kid conscience will agree chewing gum or fruit chews are sweet treats!

Image  

My nephew and puppy dressed as baseball players! Please ignore our messy construction. 

One thought on “Happy Belated Halloween!

  1. […] non-hydrogenated oils or trans-fat free margarine instead of butter (Read this post for more info on […]

Leave a comment